NWACC Releases Names Of President Candidates

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Thirty people, including three from Arkansas, have applied to replace Becky Paneitz as president at NorthWest Arkansas Community College, the school announced in a news release.

The Arkansas candidates are Steven Gates, senior vice president for learning and provost at NorthWest Arkansas Community College; Jo Alice Blondin, chancellor of the Arkansas Tech University campus in Ozark ; and Richard Dawe, president of Ozarka College.

Paneitz, who has been NWACC president since 2003, announced in April she is retiring in June 2013.

The Candidate Search Committee, whose chairman is Randy Lawson of the Bentonville college’s Board of Trustees, will meet Oct. 4-5 to review the candidate applications, according to the news release.

The Association of Community College Trustees is working with the NWACC board on the search, including reviewing and screenings the applicants,according to the release.The money for the consulting firm is being provided by the NWACC Foundation. 

In addition to those from Arkansas, the candidates are:

Clarence Ates, senior vice president for academic affairs, at Atlantic Union College in Massachusetts;

Pascal Berlioux, president and CEO, Arizona Forest Restoration Products, Inc.; Robert Brescia, CEO, Community Care College System in Oklahoma;

Renato Cataldo, CEO of Crazy for Education in St. Louis; 

Eugene Dial, vice president for student affairs and enrollment services, and associate professor, Nicholls State University in Louisiana;

Dale Doty, vice president for academic affairs, Florence-Darlington Technical College in South Carolina;

Ralph Ford, vice president of student services, Union County College in New Jersey;

James Froh, dean of the business and technology school, Chipola College in Florida;

Christopher Giorno, consultant, Cornucopia Computer Modeling System in Chicago;

Ivan Gorne, vice president for student services, facilities and operations, Bates Technical College in Washington;

Donald Green, vice president and dean, Ferris State University in Michigan;

Cindy Hess, president, Forest Park campus, St. Louis Community College;

Merton Howe, investment, research and grant advisor;

Evelyn Jorgenson, president, Moberly Area Community College in Missouri;

Kimberly Krull, vice president for academic affairs, Cloud County Community College in Kansas;

Anthony Kinkel, resident Wichita Area Technical College;

Patrick McNally, assistant chancellor for instructional and student success, Wayne County Community College in Michigan;

Robert Munoz, vice president, continuing education services, Tarrant County College – Trinity River Campus in Texas;

Paul Pai, interim executive vice president, Sichuan Missouri University in Missouri;

Thomas Rasco, faculty and mentor, Walden University in Minnesota;

Edward “Ted” Raspiller, president, Brazos County Campuses, Blinn College;

Martin Shapiro, professor of marketing, management and international business, Berkeley Colleges in New York and New Jersey;

Carol Spencer, executive director, Academic Program Articulation Steering Committee in Arizona;

Tia Strait, dean, School of Health Sciences, Public Safety, and Technology, Missouri Southern State University;

Debra Teachman, vice president for academic affairs, New Mexico State University;

Anthony Tricoli, CEO and president, The Global Center for the Advancement of Higher Education.

Nathan Williams, vice president for operations, Blue Mountain Community College in Oregon.