Jeff Long Selected Chairman of Playoff Committee

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Arkansas athletics director Jeff Long will be the chairman of the first-ever college football playoff committee.

Long, who made the statement himself on Monday morning via YouTube and Twitter, will be one of 13 members on the committee to select the four teams in the 2014 college football playoff.

“I’m proud and humbled to serve as the College Football Playoff Selection Committee’s first chairman,” Long said in a statement. “While our committee’s charge is simple – to select and seed the best teams – admittedly our work will not be easy. We will have very important decisions to make throughout the process.”

The remainder of the selection committee is scheduled to be announced officially on Wednesday, with expected members to include four other sitting athletics directors, Pro Football Hall of Famer Archie Manning, former Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice among others.