Sebastian, Crawford Among 22 Counties Declared As “Disaster Areas”

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Van Buren

Sebastian and Crawford are among the 22 counties the Arkansas governor declared Friday as state disaster areas “due to damage caused by severe winter storms last week,” Gov. Mike Beebe said in a statement.

Several inches of snow and ice fell Dec. 5 and 6 on Northwest Arkansas and the River Valley, resulting in car crashes, slippery roads and business and school closings. Although many main roadways and streets are now clear, some rural roads and side streets still remain covered in ice.

Beebe declared the following counties as state disaster areas: Baxter, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren.

Friday’s announcement comes eight days after the governor declared a statewide emergency due to winter weather, stating he had released $100,000 from his Disaster Fund to help with the initial response after the storm.

“The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management is already on the ground with representatives of the Federal Emergency Management Agency in about a dozen of the affected counties,” Beebe said in a statement Friday. “Their joint efforts will determine whether Arkansas may qualify for federal assistance.”


  • Mario

    I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours
    today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  • Jeff Peterson

    So, where’s Benton county in this listing? We got hit just as bad, and had no help from inept leadership from the road crew to clean things up. The only reason Benton county is back up and going is due to the weather itself, Not the crews or Beebe.

Comments are closed.