Florida State’s Winston Wins Heisman

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Jameis Winston and Florida State have won each of their 13 games by huge margins.

That trend continued Saturday as Winston won the 79th Heisman Trophy in a landslide.

Winston, who has accounted for more than 4,000 yards and 42 touchdowns for the Seminoles, received 668 first place votes. Winston received a total of 2,205 points. Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron was second with 704. The margin of victory was the fifth largest in Heisman history.

Florida State will take on Auburn on Jan. 6 in the BCS national championship. The Seminoles have won each game by an average of more than 42 points.

Winston finished with 3,820 yards passing and 38 touchdowns, both records for the ACC and FBS freshmen. Winston also had the highest pass efficiency rating (190.06) in the country.

Winston is the third Florida State quarterback to win the award but the first since Chris Weinke in 2000. Charlie Ward was the other after claiming the prize in 1993.