Friday Night All-Stars: Quarterback of the Year Nominees

5NEWS and the Northwest Arkansas Touchdown Club are launching a brand new high school football awards banquet called “Friday Night All-Stars.” The event will be held on Jan. 18 with Arkansas head coach Bret Bielema as the guest speaker. A special television broadcast of the event can be seen on Ch. 5 Saturday, Jan. 25 at 11:30 a.m.

Here are the nominees for Quarterback of the Year:1. Jabe Burgess, Greenwood
2. Ty Storey, Charleston
3. Jace Pitchford, Poteau

Jace Pitchford led the Poteau Pirates to the state title game for the first time in more than half a century and racked up big numbers in the process.

The senior accounted for 2,600 yards and 35 touchdowns as the Pirates finished the year going 12-2.

“All the guys looking up to me, it puts some pressure on you but all in all it`s a great feeling. Especially doing what we did,” Pitchford said.

Greenwood’s run of big time quarterbacks continued with Jabe Burgess as he threw for 2,000 yards and 20 touchdowns during his senior season despite missing time to start the year.

Burgess was 26-1 as a starter for the Bulldogs.

Charleston’s Ty Storey threw for 4,300 yards and a school record 52 touchdowns as he led the Tigers to the 3A state title.

“It was a great year,” Storey said. “Being with all my teammates and all them was just even more special. Great group of guys and with them I kind of expected a lot of success but 15-0, state champions, it`s hard to expect that.”

The University of Arkansas commit added six more rushing touchdowns and was also named the Gatorade Player of the Year in Arkansas.