Four Arkansas Teachers Win Presidental Teaching Award


LITTLE ROCK (KTHV) — The White House recently announced the 2014 and 2015 winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. 

Ashley Kasnicka, a mathematics teacher at Harvey Jones Elementary School in Springdale, Ark., and Cassie Kautzer, a science teacher previously at Monitor Elementary School who now teaches at Hellstern Middle School, both in Springdale, Ark., are 2014 winners.

Daniel Moix, a computer science education specialist/previous computer science teacher at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs, Ark., and Diedre Young, a science teacher at Ridgway Christian High School in Pine Bluff, Ark., are 2015 winners.  Moix was selected under the mathematics category.

The award recognizes K-12 teachers who have demonstrated their commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques and technology use.  The National Science Foundation oversees the award program on behalf of the White House. 

“In order for Arkansas to continue building momentum in Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics education, we need a solid corps of teachers who can both teach effectively and be creative about getting our students interested in STEM fields,” Arkansas Govenor Asa Hutchinson said.  

“Daniel Moix, Diedre Young, Cassie Kautzer, and Ashley Kasnicka are four teachers who are setting a great example in how to do just that.  I am proud that their hard work and success have been honored by the president and the National Science Foundation.  I look forward to seeing the profound impact these teachers will continue to have on Arkansas’ students.”

A national committee comprised of scientists, mathematicians and educators selected 213 teachers nationwide to receive the 2014 and 2015 awards. In addition to a presidential citation, these awardees will each receive a $10,000 award and a trip to Washington, DC, for professional development activities and an awards ceremony.

They also will be recognized during the 2016 Arkansas Curriculum Conference Nov. 3.