Two Officers Awarded for Work with STEP

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Alvarado and Hanby

Two Fayetteville Police officers received awards from the Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office for their work with Selective Traffic Enforcement Projects (STEP).

Officers Jason Alvarado and Patrick Hanby were recognized for their efforts during the 12th Annual Driving While Intoxicated and Occupant Protection Enforcement Awards Ceremony in Little Rock on June 1.

Corporal Alvarado worked throughout the year to enforce traffic laws and investigate accidents, according to the department. 

“Corporal Alvarado has remained committed to the STEP program by working both on and off duty seat belt enforcement,” stated a news release from the department. “He has led the department in seat belt and child safety seat enforcement.”

Officer Hanby was dedicated to DWI enforcement both on and off duty throughout the year.  He helped remove 212 intoxicated drivers off city streets. The department says his high standards and professionalism have resulted in conviction after conviction. 

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration funds these projects through grants administered by the Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office.  These projects provide additional funds to pay for officers to target dangerous driving habits such as impaired driving and those not using seatbelts and/or child safety seats.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.