Johnson Mayor Issues Fireworks Ban

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The City of Johnson has issued a burn ban which prohibits all outdoor burning and the use of fireworks.

“While we understand this may upset people, our concern is and will remain the safety and well-being of all our citizens and guests, as well as their property,” Mayor Buddy Curry said in a statement Thursday.

The burn ban will remain in effect until further notice.

Fayetteville, Farmington Prairie Grove and Bentonville have also issued burn bans prohibiting the personal use of fireworks.

Washington County is also under a burn ban. Benton County is under a Red Flag Burn Ban. For more information on county burn bans in Arkansas, visit

The professional Fayetteville Freedom Fireworks Display is still scheduled for July 4th at the Northwest Arkansas Mall. Indoor activities begin around 2 p.m. and the fireworks will begin after 9 p.m.

Arvest Ballpark in Springdale will also host “Fourth at the Field” presented by the Walmart Visitor Center. Inflatables, family activities, on-field activities, live music and fireworks will round out the evening’s entertainment on July 4th. Gates open at 5 p.m. Fireworks begin at 8:45 p.m. Tickets are $8 for adults and $6 for kids 12 and under. Visit or call (479) 927-4900 for more information and to buy tickets.