Fans Cheer On Razorback Olympians

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A dozen University of Arkansas athletes are in London for the summer Olympics, and some of their biggest fans will be glued to their TVs in Northwest Arkansas.

The 2012 Olympic roster includes 12 Razorback track and field stars, seven men and five women. Of those athletes, three are representing the United States and the other nine will compete for other countries.

"It makes me feel proud that I went to the U of A. It makes me feel important just cheering on everybody," said Latroy Wakefield, a university alumn. "This is going to be broadcast all over the world, so it's good to have Arkansas on there."

Among the Olympians is Tyson Gay, the second fastest man in the world, who attended the university in 2003 and 2004.

Gay, an American record holder, is making his second Olympic appearance representing Team USA.

Another fan favorite, Wallace Spearmon, Jr., will compete in the Olympics for the 2nd time.

He has recorded the seventh-fastest time ever in the 200-meter track event.

Stephen Gahagans, director of the UA's campus police department, said the university and surrounding community will be keeping an eye on the Razorback athletes in their quests for Olympic gold.

“Of course, we all here in Arkansas Razorback nation, we are very proud of them and we are going to be cheering them on," Gahagans said. "I will be definitely cheering them on and watching it very closely and I'm sure most members of our community will be watching and cheering them on."

Pole-vaulter Jeremy Scott will also represent the United States.  

This is his first time to compete in the Olympic Games.

Five-time Olympic medalist Veronica Campbell-Brown is making her fourth Olympic appearance.

Representing Jamaica, Campbell-Brown is the defending Olympic champion in the 200-meter event.

Alistair Cragg will run the 500-meter event for Ireland in his third time at the Olympics

First-time competitors from the UA include Regina George, Raymond Higgs, Kerri-Ann Mitchell, Marek Niit, Tina Sutej, Samuel Vazquez, and Ivanique Kemp.

The track and field events begin Aug. 3.

Tyson Gay
United States Of America

4 x 100M Relay

  • Making second appearance at Olympics
  • Finished second in 100m at Olympic Trials
  • American record holder at 100m (9.69)

Veronica Campbell-Brown

4 x 100M Relay

  • Making Fourth Appearance at Olympics
  • Five-time Olympic Medalist
  • Defending Olympic champion at 200m

Alistair Cragg


  • Making third appearance at Olympics
  • Two-time 5,000m finalist
  • Finished 12th at the 2004 Olympics in Athens

Regina George


  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Won Nigerian Championships at 400m
  • School-record holder at 400m (51.11)

Raymond Higgs

Long Jump

  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Won Bahamas Championships in long jump
  • 2012 SEC outdoor champion

Ivanique Kemp

100M Hurdles

  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Won Bahamas Championships in 100mH
  • Bahamian record holder in 100mH (13.13)

Kerri-Ann Mitchell


  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Third in Canadian Olympic Trials (11.34)
  • 2004 indoor All-American (4x400m)

Marek Niit 


  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Estonian record holder at 100m (10.19) and 200m (20.43)
  • 2006 World Junior champion at 200m

Jeremy Scott
United States of America

Pole Vault

  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Finished second in pole vault at Olympic Trials
  • 2011 Pan American Games silver medalist

Wallace Spearmon, Jr.
United States of America


  • Making second appearance at Olympics
  • Won Olympic Trials title at 200m
  • Seventh-fastest ever at 200m (19.65)

Tina Sutej

Pole Vault

  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Two-time NCAA champion in pole vault
  • NCAA record holder in pole vault (4.61m/15-1.5)

Samuel Vazquez
Puerto Rico


  • Making first appearance at Olympics
  • Ran personal-best 3:37.60 in June to qualify
  • 2004 indoor All-American (DMR)
Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.