School Board Runoffs Held Tuesday

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Multiple runoff elections taking place in the area Tuesday; one in Northwest Arkansas and one in the Southern River Valley.

In Bentonville, the incumbent Kim Mertes and her challenger Grant Lightle will battle for a the Zone 3 on the Bentonville School Board.

In September, Lightle received 205 votes, or 48%, followed by Mertes with 155 votes, 37%. The other candidates that did not make it to the runoff include Samantha Sizemore Vernetti with 7% of votes, Jeff Odom with 6% and Brandon Davis with 3% of the votes.

Votes can be cast Tuesday, from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the Bentonville Church of Christ, at 811 N. Walton Blvd.

In Waldron, incumbent Tammye Sherrill and Jeffrey Brewer are going head to head for the open seat for Zone 4 on the Waldron School Board.

In September, Sherrill ended just shy of the number needed to avoid a runoff. She received 49.33% of the ballots cast. Brewer received 24.44% of the vote. The remaining two challengers, Jimmy Earl Atchley and Daniel D. White, received 43 and 16 votes, respectively.

The polls will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday at the Scott County Courthouse.