Greenwood Beats Pine Bluff 51-44 to Win 6A State Championship

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Greenwood football won the 6A State Championship Saturday, 51-44 over Pine Bluff at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock.

This marks the second time in a decade Greenwood has won three-straight State Championships (2005,2006,2007).

Wide receiver Drew Morgan was named the MVP for the second straight season, scoring three total touchdowns. Morgan took a 33-yard screen from quarterback Jabe Burgess with :30 seconds left in the third quarter to give the Bulldogs their final score and a 51-37 advantage.

Burgess finished 14-22 for 396 yards and 3 touchdowns. He also ran for a score.

Greenwood trailed for most of the first half because of turnovers. Pine Bluff took a 21-7 lead in the first quarter after two Burgess interceptions.

That's where Greenwood turned the game around. Burgess hit Austin Harris for a 92-yard score, the second longest play in State Championship history, cutting the lead to 28-21 early in the second quarter.

Then the Greenwood defense showed up, forcing two straight punts and blocking another one.

With 2:10 left in the second quarter Greenwood took it's first lead, 31-28, on a Morgan touchdown run, and never gave that lead back up.

Tune in to 5NEWS at 5pm on KXNW 34 and 5NEWS on KFSM 5 at 6:30pm for live coverage.