Oklahoma Governor Tours Tornado Damage

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin declared a State of Emergency for 16 Oklahoma counties due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding that began over the weekend.

The counties included in the declaration are: Caddo, Cleveland, Comanche, Creek, Garfield, Grant, Greer, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne and Pottawatomie.

Since Saturday, parts of the Sooner state have experienced tornadoes, straight-line winds, damaging hail and flooding.  Initial reports show damage in numerous communities including Bethel Acres, Carney, Edmond, Little Axe, Norman, Shawnee and Wellston.

Gov. Fallin visited Carney Monday morning, and thanked Red Cross volunteers for helping those in need.

At least two deaths and 23 injuries have been reported. One man was killed in Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, where a twister reduced trailer park homes to piles of debris.

Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions, according to the governor’s office. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

To make donations to the American Red Cross, please go to www.redcross.org or by texting REDCROSS to 90999.