Benton Co. Declared A Disaster Area After Floods

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe declared six counties, including Benton County, disaster areas Friday (Aug. 16), due to extensive damage caused by severe storms and flooding last week.

State and federal officials will began formal assessment of damages in Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, and Newton Counties on Monday (Aug. 19), according to Beebe.

They will determine whether Arkansas may qualify for federal disaster assistance when those assessments are complete.

A preliminary assessment of flood and storm damage in Benton County estimates the cost at $4,946,221, according to emergency management director Robert McGowen. These damages were compiled from more than 200 sites throughout the county.

Click here to see more coverage of the Benton County flood.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.