Fayetteville’s Arnold Earns Coach of the Year Honors

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Vance Arnold led Fayetteville to a 7A state championship last spring, his sixth career title, and was named the division II National Coach of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association.

The Bulldogs finished 24-1 last season and was capped by a 6-3 win against Rogers in the title game. Fayetteville finished No. 11 in Maxpreps.com national poll.

Arnold led Fayetteville to a state title in 2002 and then the Bulldogs won four straight championships from 2006 through the 2009 season.

Arnold has been a head coach for more than 25 years and has totaled more than 500 career wins. Fayetteville has won 12 conference titles under Arnold.

The Fayetteville coach was one of eight coaches selected as a regional coach of the year in the division II category. In all, 24 coaches were named regional coach of the year and three were named national coach of the year. Arnold was the only coach from Arkansas or Oklahoma on the list.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.