Area Players, Coaches Named To All-Star Basketball Games

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Area players will get one last chance to shine before their high school playing careers are over as they were named to the Arkansas Activities Association All-Star game.

Both the girls and boys games are set for June 26 at UCA’s Farris Center in Conway.

On the girls side, Northside’s Brianna Jackson and Greenwood’s Lundon Williams will play for the East team that is coached by Conway’s Ashley Nance. Jackson played in three straight 7A championship games for the Lady Bears while Williams helped Greenwood win two 6A ┬átitles in three years.

Farmington coach Brad Johnson was selected as the West team’s head coach while Paris coach Toby Tevebaugh will serve as one of three assistants, along with Acorn’s Mike Jackson.

Tevebaugh will get another chance to coach Christa Huber after she helped Paris lead the Lady Eagles to the 3A semifinals. Huntsville’s Vanessa Burgess helped her team to the 5A state title game and is also on the West roster. Kendall Coleman (Bentonville), Jasmin Jackson (Acorn) Marleeya Montgomery (Har-Ber), Anna Rogers (Greenland) and Tara Webb (Mountainburg) were also named to the West team.

Rogers helped Greenland with back-to-back state championship in 2012 and 2013 while Webb carried the Lady Dragons to the 2014 state title game.

For the boys, Northside’s Joe Dye is the lone representative from this side of the state to play for the East team. Dye will join a pair of Arkansas Razorbacks signees in Anton Beard (North Little Rock) and Trey Thompson (Forrest City) on the East roster.

Clarksville coach Tony Davis will lead the West squad while Heritage’s Tom Olsen is one of three assistants.

Both coaches will coach one of their former players as the Panthers’ Freddie Lee and the War Eagles Crist Olsen were selected.

D.J. Evans led Springdale to the 7A title game and will represent the West and will be joined by Hunter Ball (Waldron), Brandon Berg (Scranton) and Terrence Pierce (Gravette).