Collins, Williams Named To Maxwell Watch List

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

FAYETTEVILLE (KFSM) – After both put together 1,000 yard rushing seasons in 2014, Arkansas running backs Alex Collins and Jonathan Williams will certainly garner national attention this fall and that started Tuesday afternoon.

Williams, a senior this fall, rushed for 1,190 yards and 12 touchdowns while junior Alex Collins added 1,100 yards and 12 touchdowns. Both were named to the Maxwell Award watch list. The Maxwell Award is awarded to college football’s ‘player of the year’.

In all, 78 players were named to the watch list including Oklahoma receiver Sterling Shepard, OU running back Semaje Perine and Arkansas State quarterback Fredi Knighten.

The watch list for the Bednarik Award was also released on Tuesday (July 7) but no Razorbacks were on the preseason list while the Sooners’ Charles Tapper, Zack Sanchez and Eric Striker were among those listed.

For the complete Maxwell and Bednarik watch lists click here.