Oklahoma Governor Declares State Of Emergency For 77 Counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY (KFSM)- Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency for every county in Oklahoma, due to the winter storm and flooding conditions across the state.

According to a news release, nearly 100,000 homes were still without power Sunday afternoon (Nov. 29). The release states the power outages are a result of the freezing rain, ice and sleet that began Thursday (Nov. 27).

The state of emergency will help facilitate mutual aid, which includes oversized vehicles such as those trasnporting utility poles to the affected areas, according to the news release.

The release states Fallin’s executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief and preparedness.

Under the executive order, the state of emergency lasts for 30 days.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.