Oklahoma Congressman: LeFlore, Sequoyah Counties Could Receive Disaster Aid

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA (KFSM) — Counties in Arkansas are not the only ones eligible to receive disaster assistance from the severe weather near the end of 2015.

Congressman Markwayne Mullin (Rep. Dist 2) announced on Wednesday (March 9) that farmers in LeFlore and Sequoyah counties may be eligible for federal disaster assistance, according to a release from Mullin’s office.

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson had received approval from President Obama on Feb. 5 for several counties in Arkansas to seek eligibility for federal disaster aid.

Farmers who were impacted by severe rain and flooding between Nov. 1, 2015, and Jan. 12, 2016, may be eligible for assistance through several U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency programs, including emergency assistance for livestock, farm-raised fish, and forest restoration, the release stated.

Farmers should contact their local Farm Service Agency (FSA) offices for more information or to apply for assistance.

The LeFlore County FSA can be reached at 918-647-4800. The Sequoyah County FSA can be reached at 918-456-1924.