Early Voting Underway For Sebastian County EMS Fee Increase, Fort Smith City Director

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SEBASTIAN COUNTY (KFSM) — The early voting period has begun for voting on an EMS fee increase, as well as a Fort Smith city director.

The fee for those in south Sebastian County would increase $25 per year for the next two years. Those using the existing Emergency Medical Service fee pay $18 per year. If approved, they would pay $43 in 2017 and $68 in 2018 on their personal property tax statements.

On the ballot in Fort Smith is Ward 4 city director position. Voters will choose between incumbent George Catsavis, Neal Martin, Zachary Muncrief and Robyn Dawson. The winner is elected to a four-year term. If no candidate receives 50 percent of the vote, the two candidates with the most votes will advance to teh November general election.

The early voting period began Tuesday (August 2). The special election is August 9.