Broyles Award Announces Finalists

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LITTLE ROCK (KFSM) – A week before the ceremony, the the award given to the nation’s top college football assistant coach has narrowed down to the five finalists for the 2017 Broyles Award.

The five finalists are:

School Coach Position
Auburn Kevin Steele Defensive Coordinator
Clemson Tony Elliot Co-Offensive Coordinator
Oklahoma Bill Bedenbaugh Offensive Coordinator
UCF Troy Walters Offensive Coordinator
Wisconsin Jim Leonhard Defensive Coordinator

The award was created in 1996 to recognize the nation’s best assistant coach and was named after longtime Arkansas coach Frank Broyles. Broyles led the University of Arkansas as a football coach and then an athletic director for nearly 50 years before retiring in 2007.

The final five will travel to Little Rock, Ark. for the announcement of the 2017 Broyles Award winner on Tuesday, December 5th . The trophy presentation will be broadcast live on KFSM at noon.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.