Nearly Half Of Arkansas Counties Under Burn Ban

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ARKANSAS (KFSM) -- 56 counties in the state, including counties in Northwest Arkansas and the River Valley, are under high-wildfire danger because dry conditions.

Due to current drought conditions, low humidity and winds, risk have been elevated in the state.

In our area, Logan, Benton, Franklin, Carroll, Johnson and Madison Counties have all been issued burn bans -- which prohibit burning of any kind.

The ban comes after the Arkansas Agriculture Department's Forestry Commission suppressed 103 wildfires, that burned 1,805 acres.

Washington County, among other counties, have been issued a red-flag warning, which means current conditions are extremely dry, and outdoor burning is discouraged.

During Thanksgiving  weekend, wildfires burned 1,805 acres, and brought the monthly statewide total to more than 3,100 acres. Since the start of the year, 1,288 wildfires have burned 22,849 acres.

Residents are strongly discouraged to burn even if a burn ban hasn't been issued.

Ashley, Bradley, Boone, Carroll, Clark, Craighead ,Cleburne, Conway, Drew, Faulkner, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Springs, Independence, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lonoke, Montgomery, Ouachita, Perry, Polk, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, White, Woodruff and Yell Counties are the other counties that have issued burn bans.

To read more from the Arkansas Forestry Commission, click here.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.