Race For Bentonville Mayor Heads To Runoff

BENTONVILLE (KFSM) -- The wait for a winner in the race for Bentonville mayor will continue for another month.

Unofficial results from the Benton County Election Commission show that none of the five candidates received a majority of votes, thus prompting a runoff election Dec. 4.

With 100 percent of the precincts reporting, the unofficial results were:

  • Webb                    5,595          43%
  • Orman                 5,193           40%
  • Skaggs                 1,777           14%
  • Turner                     272              2%
  • Shannon                 221              2%

Arkansas law requires a candidate win a majority of the vote or at least 40 percent, so long as it’s 20 points more than the second place finisher, to avoid a runoff.

Results Tuesday (Nov. 6), show Bentonville City Councilor Stephanie Orman and former councilor Jim Webb as receiving the most votes in the election.

Webb took 43 percent of the votes, topping Orman's second-place finish with 40 percent votes. Both will advance to the December runoff election.

Retired real estate professional Terry Shannon, former judge John Skaggs, and barber Charlie Turner took the remaining vote at 2%, 14%, and 2% respectively.

Early voting starts one week prior to the runoff election on Nov. 27.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.