Maria Fassi Wins ANNIKA Award For 2nd Straight Year


FAYETTEVILLE (KFSM)–After a historic senior season highlighted by winning the NCAA individual national championship, Maria Fassi capped off her career with a presitigious honor.

Fassi became the first golfer ever to win the ANNIKA Award in back-to-back seasons, beating out fellow finalists Frida Kinhult of Florida State and Jennifer Kupcho of Wake Forest.

A consistently dominant golfer, the Razorback senior won the SEC individual championship en route to being named SEC Player of the Year. One of Fassi’s brightest moments was a second place finish at the Augusta National Woman’s Amateur

Fassi then returned to Fayetteville and played in the NCAA Championships at The Blessings, winning the individual title. Fassi shot a dominant 8-under par over the three round event.

The senior paced Arkansas to a fourth place finish at the NCAA championships in stroke play before the Hogs fell to eventual runner-up Wake Forest in the match play quarterfinals.

Here’s a list of the four winners over six years of the ANNIKA Award:

Year Player School
2019 Maria Fassi Arkansas
2018 Maria Fassi Arkansas
2017 Leona Maguire Duke
2016 Bronte Law UCLA
2015 Leona Maguire Duke
2014 Alison Lee UCLA

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.